Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu


This page is archived and is no longer being updated

Welcome to Cardiff University Committee Support's home page.

The Committee Support Team

Committee Support is headed by Sharon Orton (Governance Manager) supported by Lisa Williams and Sarah Hanks (Committee Support Coordinators) and a small team of administrative and distribution staff.  See our Contact Us Page for more detailed information.

Committee Support provides effective and efficient support to the University in its pursuit of excellence in teaching and research. Much of our work is focussed on the smooth running of the committees that underpin the governance of the University. We also act as the co-ordinating division for the provision and distribution of general information for staff and committee members.

Our main function is to co-ordinate the business and arrangements for the main committee meetings. This includes the Calendar of Meetings, membership of committees,and printing and distribution of all committee papers.

All amendments to the Charter, Statutes, Ordinances and Senate Regulations are dealt with by Senate and Council. Current versions are available from our Governance Page .

Senate Membership 2013-14  - Vacancies Professorial and Academic Staff

The Senate is the chief academic authority of the University and is responsible for the educational policy of the University.  It meets three times in each session at 2.15pm on Wednesday afternoons.

There are currently a number of vacancies to serve as a member of Senate.  Members of the Professoriate and Academic staff of the University are therefore invited to submit nominations for membership. The term of office will be with effect from 1 August 2013 until 31 July 2017.

For further information on the vacancies, including information on eligibility click here:

Alternatively contact Committee Support on extension 74297 or email  

Nomination forms for Senate Membership can be found here:

 Academic Staff 

 Professorial Staff 

The deadline for receipt of nominations is Friday 5 July 2013. 

Committee Review 2010-11

For information on the Committee Review and its outcomes please click  here .

Accessibility and Translation 

Members are encouraged to contact Committee Support on 029 20874297 or email to discuss any requirements they may have that will assist with their attendance at meetings.  Welsh translation and interpretation facilities for non welsh speaking members at meetings conducted in the medium of Welsh will be provided if necessary.  Please give as much notice as possible of this requirement.  We do our best to ensure that University Committee meetings are accessible to all attendees and book our rooms through the University's room booking system.  If you need specific information relating to the accessibility of Cardiff University's meeting rooms, please contact the Estates team directly or see their accessibility information at the following link:


Administrative Handbook (via Staff Site)

The Visitor

The University Secretary acts as the contact point for petitions to the Visitor. A petition must only be made after all relevant internal procedures have been exhausted. Please address all correspondence to:

The Visitor
c/o the Deputy Secretary to Council
Cardiff University
Room 1.65
Main Building
Park Place
CF10 3AT