Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu


Cyflwynir y tudalen hwn yn Saesneg am nad yw wedi'i gyfieithu i'r Gymraeg hyd yn hyn.

Os hoffech i’r dudalen hon gael ei chyfieithu fel mater o flaenoriaeth, anfonwch gyfeiriad y dudalen hon at

School of Pharmacy success

31 Gorffennaf 2007

The Welsh School of Pharmacy has been chosen as one of two institutions to host the prestigious ‘Award for Academic Excellence’ by the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain.

Recognising the research and teaching success of the School, the award provides funding to enable exceptional pharmacists and pharmacy graduates to undertake PhD training, and is designed to increase the number of pharmacists who enter academia and make it their career.

The Welsh School of Pharmacy was selected for the award through a process of peer review by the Society’s panel of pharmacy academics, taking into account the research reputation of the School and the quality of the research environment as well as the suitability of the proposed project for research training and its scientific strengths.

Commenting on the award, Professor Stephen Denyer, Head of the Welsh School of Pharmacy said: "The Welsh School of Pharmacy is delighted to have its research training recognised through the allocation of a studentship funded through the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain Academic Excellence Award scheme. This provides an excellent opportunity to support and encourage a pharmacy graduate on route to a career in academic pharmacy. The student will join a multidisciplinary environment where our research is directed towards practical application for patient benefit."

The project selected for the award, entitled "Detection of lipopolysaccharide pyrogens by molecularly-imprinted polymers," will build upon the Welsh School of Pharmacy’s expertise in polymer chemistry and pharmaceutical microbiology to develop biosensor systems recognising pyrogenic materials – the chemicals that cause fevers - which are released from bacteria.

A second studentship has been awarded to the University of Nottingham, and Ann Lewis, Secretary and Registrar of the Society, and Chair of the Academic Excellence Awards Panel, said: "Pharmacy is entering a period of great change and development. At this time it is fundamental that we continue to encourage the best pharmacists and pharmacy graduates to continue into postgraduate research and training, ensuring the brightest possible future for the profession. The two successful schools were selected, in part, for the excellent research environment and supervisory experience they will provide to researchers choosing an academic career path."