Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu


Cyflwynir y tudalen hwn yn Saesneg am nad yw wedi'i gyfieithu i'r Gymraeg hyd yn hyn.

Os hoffech i’r dudalen hon gael ei chyfieithu fel mater o flaenoriaeth, anfonwch gyfeiriad y dudalen hon at

Honours for University Staff

20 Mehefin 2007

Professor Mervyn Arthur Murch of Cardiff Law School has been appointed a Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List, for services to the Family Justice System.

Over a 40 year period, Professor Murch has studied ‘consumer views’ on the evolving family justice system, harnessing social science research methods to the process of law reform and policy and practice developments.

Commenting on the award, Prof Murch said: "The appointment is a testament to the collaboration and support I have had with colleagues at Cardiff Law School; the credit is as much due to them as to myself."

Cardiff University Honorary Fellow Sir Emyr Jones Parry has been appointed to the Order of Saint Michael and Saint George. Sir Emyr read theoretical physics at Cardiff, and is one of Britain’s most senior diplomats as the British Permanent Representative to the United Nations.

Cardiff Alumni also receiving awards include Dr Christopher David Vaughan Jones, General Medical Practitioner and Chair, Rhondda Cynon Taf Local Health Board who is appointed a CBE for services to Healthcare.

Raj Kumar Aggarwal is appointed an OBE (Officer of the Order of the British Empire) for services to the Pharmaceutical Industry and to the Asian community in Wales. For services to Business and the Community in Gurnsey Mary Perkins is appointed Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire, and Dr David Graham Salter, Deputy Chief Medical Officer for the Welsh Assembly Government becomes an Officer of the Order of the British Empire.

Ruth Selina Marks, Chair of the Wales Employment Advisory Panel is appointed MBE (Member of the Order of the British Empire) for services to Welfare to Work.