Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu


Cyflwynir y tudalen hwn yn Saesneg am nad yw wedi'i gyfieithu i'r Gymraeg hyd yn hyn.

Os hoffech i’r dudalen hon gael ei chyfieithu fel mater o flaenoriaeth, anfonwch gyfeiriad y dudalen hon at

New Year Honours

03 Ionawr 2008

Professor Jonathan Shepherd

The achievements and contributions to healthcare of three Cardiff University academics have been recognised in the New Year’s Honours list for 2008.

Professor Jonathan Shepherd, Professor of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at the School of Dentistry and also Director of the University’s Violence and Society Research Group, has been appointed Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) for his services to healthcare and the criminal justice system.

Emeritus Professor Ann Tucker, former Dean of the School of Nursing and Midwifery Studies is appointed Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) for her services to healthcare. Also appointed OBE is Professor Philip Routledge, Professor of Clinical Pharmacology at the School of Medicine’s Department of Pharmacology, Therapeutics and Toxicology and Honorary Consultant Physician at Cardiff and Vale NHS Trust, for his services to medicine.

Professor Shepherd conducted the first field research comparing injuries from toughened glasses used in bar and nightclub fights to those of glass which becomes sharp-edged. His work prompted many bars to switch to tougher glass in the late 1990s, leading to a fall in injuries.

Professor Shepherd’s research has also helped develop the measurement of violence trends by using hospital accident and emergency data. He convened the Cardiff Violence Prevention Group – a prototype for the Crime Reduction Partnerships now established throughout the UK. His work on late-night city violence was recently recognised with the 2008 Stockholm Prize in Criminology, an international prize recognising outstanding achievement in the field of criminological research and its application.

Earlier in his career, research by Professor Shepherd prompted the influential Royal College of Surgeons of England guideline published in 1996 and the historic first National Institute for Clinical Excellence (NICE) technology appraisal in 2000 – on prophylactic removal of third molars (wisdom teeth). As a result of these guidelines and his advocacy of selective surgery in the national media, 30,000 fewer wisdom teeth operations were carried out in NHS dental services in 2003 compared to 1996.

Professor Shepherd said: "I am delighted by this honour, and particularly pleased that it recognises the work done across the public services. If I’ve achieved anything, it is to produce the evidence for a joined-up approach to violence prevention. I should also pay tribute to research colleagues, the police, local government officers and the University itself for the way they have taken the work on violence reduction forward."

Emeritus Professor Tucker worked in the field of children's nursing for many years before moving into education. She retired as head of the School of Nursing earlier this year, but has remained active in the field. Most recently, she led a collaboration between Cardiff and Swansea Universities, securing Wales as the first country within the UK, and only the third in Europe, to be accepted into an honour society recognising distinction in nursing – the Chapter of the Honour Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International. This will provide opportunities for nurse leaders in Wales to further international collaborations, gain access to a number of resources, and promote the professional development of nurses who strive to improve nursing care worldwide. Professor Tucker is also a Trustee of the Florence Nightingale Foundation, which raises funds to provide scholarships for nurses and midwives to study at home and abroad.

Professor Routledge, also a member of the Welsh School of Pharmacy, has research interests in the fields of bespoke prescribing, drug safety and pharmacovigilence and the management of drug toxicity. He became a Member of the Royal College of Physicians (MRCP [UK]) in 1975, and was elected Fellow of the Royal Colleges of Physicians of London (FRCP) in 1986, of Edinburgh (FRCPE) in 2002 and of the British Toxicological Society (FBTS) in 2006. In July 2005, the NHS Appointments Commission appointed him Chairman of the new Herbal Medicines Advisory Committee, which provides ministers with expert advice on the registration of herbal medicines and remedies. He is also Medical Director of the Welsh Medicines Partnership, set up to achieve safer and more effective prescribing in Wales and to provide independent advice on new medicines to the All-Wales Medicines Strategy Group, of which he is Acting Chairman.

The Vice-Chancellor of Cardiff University, Dr David Grant, said: "This is welcome news. These honours are a tribute to the considerable contributions made by all three colleagues, both to the University and to raising national and international standards of healthcare provision."