Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu


Cyflwynir y tudalen hwn yn Saesneg am nad yw wedi'i gyfieithu i'r Gymraeg hyd yn hyn.

Os hoffech i’r dudalen hon gael ei chyfieithu fel mater o flaenoriaeth, anfonwch gyfeiriad y dudalen hon at

New Year's Honours

02 Ionawr 2007

University staff who received honours in the New Year’s Honours list have been congratulated by the Vice-Chancellor.

"In each instance these honours reflect substantial contributions to society over a sustained period," said Dr David Grant. "They highlight very high personal levels of achievement and expertise which deliver real value and I’m delighted that their work has been recognised in this way."

Dr Grant paid particular tribute to Professor Steve Tomlinson, with whom he worked closely to achieve the merger of Cardiff University and the University of Wales College of Medicine (UWCM). Professor Tomlinson, who was Vice-Chancellor of UWCM, became Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor of Cardiff University upon merger in August 2004.

Professor Stephen Tomlinson is awarded a CBE for services to medicine.

Reacting to news of the honour, Professor Tomlinson said: "I'm delighted. However, I'm also very conscious of the fact that it wouldn't have happened without the enormous support and loyalty of friends and colleagues that I've had since I came to Cardiff five years ago. I'm also pleased and proud that it's for ‘Services to Medicine’, which has been my life for almost 40 years".

Dr Grant said, "Whilst Professor Tomlinson has been honoured for his considerable and long standing services to medicine, I would also like to highlight the immense personal contribution he made to achieving merger and the many benefits which merger is already providing,"

"The University today has a lot to thank him for and I would like to add my personal appreciation and congratulations."

Professor Garel Rhys, recently retired Director of the Centre for Automotive Industry Research at Cardiff Business School, is also awarded a CBE. Professor Rhys is chairman of the Welsh Assembly Government's Economic Research Advisory Panel, and receives his honour for services to Economic Research in Wales. Professor Rhys is a leading expert in the automotive field and is widely quoted in leading media on automotive issues. Others awarded a CBE in this round include: actress Penelope Keith; singer songwriter Rod Stewart; and Wales’ rugby player Gareth Edwards.

Professor Mike Rowe, Professor of Thermoelectrics, receives an OBE for services to Technology. His research interest for more than forty years has been in thermoelectric generation - employing thermocouples to convert heat into electricity. The conversion technology is well founded and the use of metal/metal alloy thermocouples in everyday applications such as controlling the central heating system or refrigerator temperature is commonplace.

Professor Rowe is working with the United States Department of Energy to establish an EU/USA thermoelectric material research collaboration. The project target is to reproduce the substantial improvements in thermoelectric performance of low dimensional semiconductor structures in nano particle size bulk material.

Commenting on receiving news of the honour, Professor Rowe said:

"As a schoolboy in the Gwent valleys I would never have dreamed that my love of science would take me on a journey leading eventually to Buckingham Palace.

"Science for me is a tremendous adventure and thermoelectric generation is an exciting technology with huge potential for mankind. My thanks go to my family and in particular my father who taught me the difference between knowing the name of a bird and knowing about the bird, and to my wife without whose unselfishness I could not have spent so much time at study.

"Thanks to colleagues in Cardiff University’s School of Engineering and my successive heads of school over the past forty years who have always supported my research endeavours. Thanks also to my research collaborators in Cardiff and in many countries throughout the world. Working with them has been a privilege and an inspiration and I hope to continue to be inspired for a long time to come."

Emeritus Professor Jo Sibert, School of Medicine (Department of Child Health) and formerly paediatrician with Cardiff and Vale NHS Trust receives an OBE for his services to paediatrics and to child health. Professor Sibert jointly leads the Welsh Child Protection Systematic Review Group.

Professors Rowe and Rhys receive their OBEs alongside Ian Woosnam, Captain of the winning European Ryder Cup Team, and Hugh Laurie, one of the UK’s top actors.

CBEs are awarded to individuals for performing a prominent national role, or a conspicuous leading role in regional affairs, through achievement or service to the community, or for making a highly distinguished, innovative contribution in his or her area of activity.

OBEs are awarded for a distinguished regional or country-wide role in any field, through achievement or service to the community, including notable practitioners known nationally.